Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Online Sources
The online sources on this page do not require a username or password. They are open to everyone, but remember that, even though they are free, you will still need to give credit to the creators. Cite your sources!
Beware! Questionable, scholarly open-access publishers.
Here is a list of publishers who make materials available that might not be credible. See if the source/article you found on the Internet features on this list or in one of the publications.
Project Gutenberg offers over 54,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired.
Guidelines, categories, and tools that will help you as you create, contribute to, and enrich our shared culture!
Search for creative work through sources like Google and Flickr
Photos for Class
Create quick attributions to add to slide shows, posters, etc. for Creative Commons photos
Collection of digitized movie posters by the Harry Ransom Centre at the University of Texas at Austin
The British Library
Collection of images taken from books vaguely arranged by theme: such as book covers, cycling, illustrated lettering, comic art, ships or children's book illustration.
Cultural and Educational Media
Open Access Resources at the Library of the European Commision
Articles on subjects such as education, economy environment, EU law, and EU integration.
Facts and Figures
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Open platform for public US government data
Knowledge engine that computes anything that can be computed
Google Newspaper Archive
Free access to scanned archives of newspapers.
Get access to millions of open access research papers
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Open Access Button
Free, legal research articles and data delivered instantly or automatically requested from authors.
Researchgate offers researchers a platform to publish their research and connect and collaborate with colleagues, peers, co-authors, and specialists in their field.
Possible source for free articles, as authors can opt for open access to their articles
The Natural World
The Largest Natural World Encyclopaedia Online.
Freely accessible to everyone and preserved for the benefit of future generations, Arkive is a truly invaluable resource for conservation, education and public awareness.
Add the Unpaywall extension to Chrome and read research papers for free.
Base Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. Base discloses web resources of the "Deep Web", which are ignored by commercial search engines or get lost in the vast quantity of hits.
Powered by Google, this search engine makes it easy to find papers, abstracts, citations and other scholarly literature.
Designed specifically for students and educators, iSEEK is a non-commercial search engine that delivers editor-reviewed results from universities, government sites and other noncommercial providers.
Academic search engine accessing trusted websites selected by educators and librarians
FindingDulcinea presents only credible, high-quality and trustworthy web sites, saving time for the novice and the experienced user alike.