Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Panda Book Awards

Committee Members 2021-2022


School Year 2021-2022 Shortlists Judges - (18 people)
Responsible for choosing the shortlists for the school year 2022-2023   

After receiving the longlist of nominations for the upcoming year, the Shortlist Judges will look at each title closely and cross-reference the content with the Panda Book Award criterion with the goal of identifying the top ten books within each division (6 titles for Early Years). Shortlist judges are expected to virtually meet with their fellow category judges at least three times during the longlist/shortlist period (November to January).

Early and Younger Readers - 6 judges preferred


Rebecca Taylor - International School of Beijing 

Lisa Toner - Concordia Shanghai

Amy Pierce - Wahaha International School

Angela Romero - Nanjing International School

Ada Yang - Beijing Enlightenment School


Middle Readers - 4 judges preferred


Paul Wong -  International School of Beijing 

Heather Wright - Beanstalk International Bilingual School

Linnea Simon - International School of Tianjin

Rachel Du- Keystone Academy

Older Readers - 4 judges preferred


Jess Levitt - International School of Beijing 

Nadine Bailey - Western Academy of Beijing

Shannon Babiak - International School of Tianjin

Susan Gotthelf - Shanghai Soong Ching Ling School

Mature Readers - 4 judges preferred


John Lemley - International School of Beijing 

Jodie Walker - United World College

Rebecca LeonhardKeystone Academy

Jesse Kennedy - Qibao Dwight School

Marketing - (6 people) 

The responsibilities of the Panda Marketing group are to create social media and graphic designs to support and promote the Panda Book Awards.  Ideally, posts and/or media will be shared every four to six weeks to maintain continued energy around the Panda Book Awards.  Social Media platforms include Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter (#PandaBookAwards), and direct emails. Content may include book displays, promo ideas, bookmarks, etc… It is also the role of the marketing group to notify the shortlisted authors of their inclusion with the Panda Book Awards and to notify the winners of their achievements. This position requires yearlong involvement.

Jess Levitt - International School of Beijing

Kimbra Power - Shanghai American School (Pudong)

Nadine Bailey - Western Academy Beijing

Beth Rohrbeck - Dalian American International School

Panda LibGuides Organizer (1 person)

The Panda Libguide organizer updates the Libguide site with links to books, promotional media, updates, and announcements.  This position requires yearlong involvement.

John Lemley - International School of Beijing

Steering Committee (4 people)

The steering committee is the decision-making body of the Panda Book Awards and is made up of representatives for each division.  All suggestions regarding the structure and philosophy of the Panda Book Award initiative should be submitted directly to the Steering Committee for consideration.  This position is a year-long commitment and involves quarterly virtual meetings.

Bec Taylor - Early and Young Readers - Chair and contact

Paul Wong - Middle Readers;

Jess Levitt - Older Readers;

John Lemley - Mature Readers;